my new favourite thing

some tv shows I watch, and I appreciate the absolute mastery of them: Mad Men and The Sopranos come to mind. Others I watch and they entertain the hell out of me: True Blood, Vampire Diaries, Spartacus, the first two seasons of Gossip Girl.

Then there are the shows I fall in love with. The ones that make me think, This, THIS is my favourite tv show ever when I watch them. Last year there was Friday Night Lights (okay, I’ve just checked, and actually it was only a couple of months ago. But see, these are tv shows you miss like they’re people who aren’t in your life anymore) and now, weirdly, out of nowhere, there’s How I Met Your Mother.

I feel like this should not be my new favourite tv show. I grew up with Friends, and while I still think it’s a funny show, and while I remember watching breathlessly as Ross told Rachel how he felt under the planetarium stars, it wasn’t like this. It was, after all, a sitcom.

So the first achievement of How I Met Your Mother is that it’s a sitcom – and a funny one at that – with complex characters and a whole lotta heart.

And Barney. It also has Barney Stinson.

Some other things it has are impeccable structure (particularly when it comes to open vs closed scenes – but more on that later), tense romantic plots and the kind of characters who become important to you.

I’ve caught up with current episodes, which means I can no longer spend hours a day in their company. And I miss them, damn it!

There’s a lot to learn from this show: many, many dos and one enormous don’t. Let the investigations begin.

 

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in on writing, review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

