on becoming a tourist attraction

so here’s the reason you haven’t heard from me in an age:

yes folks, that is a wedding at the Edinburgh castle. My sister-in-law’s wedding at the Edinburgh castle, to be exact. If you’ve ever been to Edinburgh, and walked up the Royal Mile to the Castle, taking in the sheer history and Scottishness of it all, you might be able to appreciate the fact that it took us 20 mins to walk 100 meters with this wee guy:

The wedding itself was in the St Margaret’s Chapel, which was built in 1093. When I was sixteen I sat in there on my own imagining all sorts of icky romantic things. The wedding was romantic, but not at all icky, and when we emerged we were in a sort of fish tank whose invisible walls were made clear by the ring of tourists photographing us.

A strange experience.

The trip included highlights like meeting our 2-year-old nephew for the first time (the wee guy in the kilt) and being called Auntie Anna in a Scottish accent, spending time with very dear friends, coming from the airport to my parents’-in-law to find my favourite dinner waiting for us, shopping at H&M, and special k’s spectacular sticky-date pudding.

There was also this:


But the thing I hadn’t expected was how clear my brain would feel after two weeks not writing. There was so much space and time and an almost sob-inducing need for rest.

After two weeks, of course, was a different matter. Once the exhaustion had passed ideas started dive-bombing me like insects on glass. That teen romance idea I mentioned in my last post? It’s now a four-book series complete with characters, complex arcs and themes. So that’s going on the shelf beside the five-book romance series I’ve also developed in my head.

Dear head, you could stop being quite so…fecund.

It feels daunting in a way to pick up writing again – that intense mixture of imaginative freedom and strict control. But I feel refreshed and ready to expend this brain-explosion on something.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in on writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to on becoming a tourist attraction

  1. Alex says:

    You don’t like to make things easier of yourself, do you? 🙂 You must also plan for small victories, which in my experience with big, time-consuming tasks, are essential. Whatever happens, I really look forward to reading the result.

    … and I’d also like to see a photo of that sticky-date pudding!

    • anna cowan says:

      what would be the fun in easy? 😉 “Plan for small victories” – I like that!

      I also really wanted a photo of the sticky date pudding, but I was too busy eating it and forgot to take a pic.

Leave a Reply

