just say the thing

“Just say the thing.” It’s become a kind of catch-phrase for me and Cat, and is most often accompanied by knowing smiles and head-shaking.

“Just say the thing.”

It was first uttered between us when Cat was re-reading the Summer Tree series by Guy Gavriel Kay. She was trying to figure out how he injected such a strong feeling of destiny into the text, thinking it would take some strenuous critical reading. Turned out there were lines like “she looked at her and was overcome by a feeling of destiny.” He just said the thing.

It came up again the other day in the response to special k’s critique that my characters are all too ambiguous. I was telling Cat, “So he was like, ‘I don’t even know who this guy is!’ and I was like, ‘OK, so should I put in a line, Bae was a her best friend and a trickster type thing?’ And he was just like, ‘No, I mean, why is he even on the ship? Is he an engineer?'”

At which point the knowing smiles and head-shaking started. “Just say the thing.”

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in on writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

