ode to my local library

since we moved to the city, one of the greatest joys in my week is racing the trams down Bourke St on my bike and ducking into Flinders Lane to go to the Melbourne City Library.

I took my sister there recently, and when I self-checked the books she said “Wait, don’t you have to pay or something?”

I couldn’t say anything for a second and then I explained the “library” concept to her.

“You mean you can just come and take as many books as you like and you don’t have to pay, as long as you bring them back?”

Yes, dear reader. For anyone who was never taken to a library as a kid and hasn’t quite discovered them as an adult, it is time. They are the last bastion of free public spaces where you aren’t required to buy or do anything.

And here is the neighbourhood of my local library, to express better than words can why it’s such a highlight:

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ode to my local library

  1. cheryl nekvapil says:

    Thanks for the prompt Annii, and here we have the National Library — what a feast if only it became a habit to use it! I can feel a New Year’s resolution coming on…………… .!

Leave a Reply

