The Social Network

this movie’s had a lot of hype, but I saw it tonight and I agree. It’s really frickin good.

I loved a whole bunch of stuff about it – the music that was so often at odds with the scene, the drama between a huge cast of different characters and the way that drama was re-framed at the end, the offscreen presence of fathers – but the absolute standout feature was the script.

That is writing.

I think particularly the very first scene has to be some of the best writing I’ve ever seen in a movie. All props to Aaron Sorkin.

A friend recently told me that she had to write a ten minute screenplay for uni. I said, “So that would be just one scene, right?” which made her speechless for a second. Ten minutes of screen time is a whole lotta what-just-happened? in movie time. Characters might, at a pinch, talk for a minute onscreen.

This conversation takes its time and it’s a stunner.

The characters were beautifully drawn – walking the fine edge of satire and sympathy. They were idiosyncratic in the least annoying possible way, their dialogue fast, clean and surprising.

The whole thing is also a slightly surreal experience, given that it’s about something so recent and still-evolving, that plays a part in many peoples’ everyday lives. It kind of made me interested in facebook all over again.

Which is possibly the point.

I thought it was the smartest, funniest, most well-written film I’ve seen in ages. Thumbs up.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

