If I can do my dishes maybe I can save the world

I can’t do my dishes. Ever, really. I wouldn’t dare tell you what’s waiting on my sink, growing new ecosystems – or maybe it’s on to universes by now.

I do occasionally wonder just what I stand to gain by this. I’m sure there’s something lame and self-defeating.

The only solution I can think of is to become habitual with it, which brings to mind what an incredibly useful tool habit is. It’s almost like a cheat, a shortcut we have access to for getting a body to do things.

I know that when I was writing 6 hours a day, habit made that possible. It turned writing into something my body craved.

What couldn’t we achieve, if doing became a habit?

Then again, if saving the world requires me to do my dishes, you might want to add some good romance novels to your cachet of tinned food and water.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in on writing, rant. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I can do my dishes maybe I can save the world

  1. cheryl nekvapil says:

    Where would one of those modern inventions called dishwashers fit into this dilemma? Or into your kitchen for that matter. It could be useful little non-human looking (unlike the litle guy in Japan) robot to keep you company. It could wash dishes while you stock up the Romance Novel provisions!

Leave a Reply

