the balance of power

I’ve been reading more paranormal/fantasy recently than I have in years – and have noticed something interesting. Because something like a soul mate can be an actual facet of a fantastical character, some very distinct power plays are set up. They seem quite far-fetched – until I start recognising them in my own life.

In Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, the hero is a werewolf, who has only one mate in his entire, immortal existence. If he’s lucky enough to find her, they then have this relationship: he protects and cares for her, providing absolutely everything she could possibly imagine needing or wanting, and she also does what he tells her.

It’s kind of ridiculous, right? And the characters have quite a struggle ahead of them trying to reconcile this.

But I think it’s closer to some kind of truth than it seems. For instance, just now I was taking special k’s shoes off for him, because he’s had a long day and is tired.

“Anything to make you comfortable and happy,” I said.

“Really, anything?” he asked, with much more curiosity than I liked.

“Yes, everything.” Because, really, I would.

But the thing is that me being prepared to do anything for him is balanced by the fact that he loves me enough to never ask anything of me that I wouldn’t/couldn’t do. And vice versa.

I think the power plays of relationships are hugely risky – but somehow, incredibly, balance out.

Once again, romance novels prove to be a true and concise account of love in real life. Booya.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

