holiday-itis (the kind you get when you work for yourself)

a friend and I were lamenting today how it’s difficult to give yourself a day off when your work is writing and your office is your house.

Lucky for me I have a sister who was very happy to help me out with that. She came round, made some tea and corn thins with peanut butter and honey and we watched an odd but immensely satisfying trio of films.

Hannah Montana the movie

so maybe you really are someone who only enjoys highbrow films. Maybe. But for the rest of you out there who secretly loooooooved High School Musical, you’ll understand that this kind of movie can be just the thing sometimes. It was actually really well-made, I thought. Made me realise that much as I aspire to be a romance writer, there must be many people out there who aspire to make colourful, fast, endearing kids films. (Who’re not just doing it for the money, while they make their grim realist masterpiece on the side, I mean.)

The Proposal

I’m a huge fan of the chick flick, but I hadn’t actually bothered to see this one yet, because as far as I could tell from the trailers it had too much “city chick meets quirky Alaskans” for my taste – all bad slapstick, and jokes that would pile up with the weight of laughs not laughed.

But I loved it! Especially the first 20 minutes or so made me laugh a lot.

Eragon

Apparently this film was so panned by the critics that no one’s considered making the second one. I don’t get it. For a family movie with dragons in it, I think they actually did a really good job. Sometimes you just want the kind of story where a naive young farm boy is “chosen” – and turns out to be oh so much more.

There’s really nothing like a movie day complete with tea, doona and sister.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to holiday-itis (the kind you get when you work for yourself)

  1. cheryl nekvapil says:

    The scribes of Hebrew Scritures would agree with you Anii. David was a shepherd boy, acountry boy who made good, and people are still talking about him over 3,000 years later.

  2. cheryl nekvapil says:

    Sorry about my typos — I mean “scriptures”

Leave a Reply

