Day 3: Sponge Cake on Your Sushi (not a Peter Combe song)

Today I learnt some things:

a) I am a control freak

b) er, a) pretty much covers it.

I didn’t actually realise anything was amiss until we were a couple of meters into the foodhall of the department store Isetan, and special k looked over at me with concern and amused sympathy and told me it was ok to not be perfect and just to be lost.

This foodhall is….crazy. I’ve never seen or been anywhere like it. There were beautifully sculpted sweets, sashimi and fruit combos of all sorts, dumplings being scooped and twisted and five perfect lettuce leaves sitting inside a plastic container in a bed of styrofoam.

It was incredible, but it was hard to enjoy in the face of how uncomfortable I was. It all looked quite normal, and I felt like I could understand where I was/what it was, but there was just something I couldn’t get a handle on. There was one (or a hundred) too many unfamiliar things. Or just things full stop.

For example, here’s Shinjuku, the part of town we were wandering about in. The unfair thing about this photo is that it doesn’t look hot. It was.

So. I like to be in control, and I’ve never understood this about myself as clearly as I did today.

Oh yeah, and we ate sushi with sponge cake around it.

Day 2

Day 1

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3: Sponge Cake on Your Sushi (not a Peter Combe song)

  1. cheryl nekvapil says:

    You’ve really landed in a foreign place this time Anii. I wonder if you can cool off anywhere and drink iced tea??

Leave a Reply

