a great kiss needs great coincidence

I kissed special k goodbye this morning – the kind of fond, slightly melting kiss of the long-committed. And I suddenly got the fear you get when you almost have a grisly accident on your bike and it leaves you shaking even though you’re technically unscathed.

I looked into his close-up, kissing face, with the smiley eyes and the textured lips (does the same quantum theory apply to lips that applies to coastlines?) and I realised how many things have to agree and come into confluence for a kiss like that to happen. Just an ordinary, morning kiss.

There stands a whole separate person to me, with a whole separate set of needs/wills/desires/have tos, and here I am with all my needs/wills/desires/have tos, but somehow, in this moment, all that personal impetus has brought us both, separately, to this.

How easily that could have not happened! What are the chances that I love him and he loves me and we meet in the corridor at the lips?

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a great kiss needs great coincidence

  1. Sarah says:

    This is very special Anna, i love it! Came across this blog on facebook somehow, and have lost copious amounts of my afternoon. 😛

  2. Cheryl says:

    The words of the Marriage Sacrament come to mind “………….they have found each other in earth existence”; a feat worthy of consecration and/or concentration.!

  3. anna cowan says:

    Reblogged this on diary of a(n accidental) housewife and commented:

    [in honour of having special k back in the same room as me, asleep in front of the heater, for the first time in 5 days, I’m reposting this from July 20, 2010.]

Leave a Reply

