I think that little zombie killer child from the deeps was my niece a moment ago…

my four year old niece is the most incongruous and gorgeous little person on the face of the planet, which means you love her before you even know what’s going on. Her fey little hands just reach inside your chest and pluck your heart right out to put in her nest beside the speckled eggs and bits of string she keeps there.

The same qualities that make you love her fiercely also make her the most impossible person on the face of the planet.

Since me and special k got back to Aus last year I’ve been favourite auntie of the year. Hell, of the decade.

Until a couple of months ago.

The new way of things culminated tonight in her saying “I only want to be looked after by people I love,” and proceeding to name everyone in the room but me.

And God, on paper (screen) that looks so inconsequential. It’s so transparent that she’s four. She’s irrational and there’s nothing to stop her from expressing her feelings. And kids wouldn’t know what they’re really feeling bad about if it used up all their lego to build a boat/shark/batmobile, right?

Unfortunately, I am also an irrational being, and one of those adults who can’t help taking it personally despite all logic. For the first few moments after she’s spat it out, anyway.

For those moments she’s not four, she’s just another person. In that moment I want to never, ever look after her again.

I think this is what it’s about: After her mother and father I’m the person who looks after her and her brother the most. But it doesn’t make sense to her that I – who am most definitely not her mother – also get to be strict with her and set boundaries and get her in trouble. Only Mum is the ultimate controller of her universe. So she needs to test me and test me and test me again.

And the worst part is that I know as long as I go into the situation fully in control it will all be fine. She will push, I’ll show her the boundaries and then she can relax, because one of us knows what’s going on. If she looks at me and sees her confusion mirrored there, hey, all hell might just break loose.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in rant and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I think that little zombie killer child from the deeps was my niece a moment ago…

  1. Cheryl says:

    I think that your niece gets it from her brother because he told me he didn’t love me because I had told him so????? Not in so many words I would guess; like “when you do that I’m not sitting here”. This is the stuff that sometimes endures then for the child for self education as an adult to rework it. And lots of dear and beautiful things get forgotton and remembered.

    I love you heaps Anna, so let’s gang up on those little rascals and love them our way until they can’t get away from it!

  2. 🙂 thanks Ma.
    Kemi did say to me: You can just bully her into loving you, you know.

  3. Pingback: day one: the moment that forgives everything else « diary of a(n accidental) housewife

Leave a Reply

