write!

I’ve found a couple of essays online that have really inspired me about writing and perseverance when sometimes those things seem ridiculously hard.

The one I love most is Erica Ridley‘s Pep Talk to Aspiring Authors. She has the most delicious no-nonsense response to writing in the face of the statistics. I kind of wish I could live in some unobtrusive part of her person so that she would rub off on me.

Her website, by the way, is awesome and well worth a visit, and she has loads of useful essays about writing.

Another one I loved was Cathy Maxwell‘s essay Be Fearless (in the Writing Advice tab). “Here’s the heart of it,” she says. “Don’t be afraid of writing or life.”

I just finished reading my first ever Jennifer Crusie novel, and before I rush out to buy everything she’s ever written I’ve been looking through her website which is absolutely rife with useful stuff. I enjoyed the essay A Writer Without a Publisher Is Like a Fish Without a Bicycle: Writer’s Liberation and You, but that was one among the many.

The main message these writers send is: Be bold. Be yourself. Write what you love.

As in life, as in love, so let it also be with your writing.

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in on writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

