a question to writers

Sorcery & Cecelia; or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot was really fun to read. But the thing I love most about the book is that it was written by two women as a Letter Game that got a bit out of hand.

If you don’t know the letter game: basically you correspond with one or more other people as fictional characters. BUT you don’t talk about the plot, so your characters simply have to respond to the cues given to you by the other person and vice-versa. Sounds like a hotbed for all sorts of tangential delights, no?

And it’s made me remember, viscerally, playing the game as a kid. I literally remember the excitement I felt at the infinite possibilities – or maybe over-excitement would be more accurate – as a kind of metallic pulse in the back of my throat.

We mostly played this game at age 11, so the story lines were Sweet Valley High regurgitated. Angst. Boys. Eating disorders. Divorced parents. Though I have a distinct image of a boy riding a giant rat along a stormy coastline – a rogue fantasy off-shoot?

Man, I could have gone on all day. Usually, whoever I was playing with became bored and gave up, and I hated that, because my characters were only just starting.

So my question is: Do you remember how writing felt back when there was no question of it being possible, it was just a question of how fast you could fill a notebook with your big, awkward words?

About anna cowan

I look around, and here I am - housewife and aspiring romance novelist. This seems unexpected.
This entry was posted in on writing, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a question to writers

  1. Mini-Mike says:

    Lol, you’re a better person than I! I never was so focused on writing that I rushed to fill notebooks, but I do remember being more fluid in my acceptance of story for story’s sake. Certainly, my best friends were the ones that would act out intricate plots with me! Now in writing things down, like China Mieville, I always loved creating highly detailed worlds first and foremost but that approach has been hindered as I’ve got older with a self-conscious awareness of having to do my research first! It means I’ve learned a lot more, but it has also slowed the process down, so I suppose I do yearn a little for the days where I would just get stuck into it, one way or another, without worrying about the petty details.

    I actually wished I had more friends that were up for writing games, as you know I’ve always been into role-playing games and its always disappointed me that the large bulk of people who are into that sort of thing were more concerned with it as a mechanical game, the rules and interactions of certain ‘powers’ and ‘abilities’ within that system, as opposed to the stories that those games had the potential to help create. Now I do collaborative story-RPG’s on the internet, of course it can be a bit of a lucky dip as to whether you get people worth writing with!

Leave a Reply

